Hellenic Center & Chamberlin

So I took a peek around the Hellenic Center in Williamsburg and it was a rather bizarre experience. While the actual center was nicer than I thought it was going to be, the carpeting in the room (which I had already disliked immensely in photos alone) was even worse in person. Seriously, it was distracting.

Also, the venue is very new, and while within two years they will have some experience in weddings and how to handle things, the fact that the special events coordinator hadn’t even thought about what the rules for decorations would be worried me a little. But the deal breaker is the fact that there is no where to have the ceremony on site. I really, really, really, really want to do everything at one venue. I don’t want to have to pay for two. The coordinator said that we could do a ceremony in one room where everyone would stand, but that didn’t appeal to me at all.

We’re not planning on having the longest ceremony in the world, but I don’t want to be up there in my white dress rushing through my vows because I’m worried that an older relative is going to strain something from standing up for so long. I’m figuring about a 30 minute ceremony and that is a little to long for all of the guests to be standing comfortably. Not to mention that stuffing 120 people into a room that can comfortably fit 40 for dinner is not exactly how I envisioned the ceremony. Imagine if I’m trying to walk down the makeshift aisle and someone shuffles around a bit and steps on my dress. I would have to hate them. I would have to hate them so much.

But there are other venue options out there.

My parents and I went to the Casemate Museum on Fort Monroe last weekend and then I discovered that the Chamberlin Hotel is actually on the property. For some reason Chamberlin and Fort Monroe always pop up as separate entities entirely, so I never realized that the Chamberlin was actually IN Fort Monroe. The Chamberlin was nice and I liked their ballroom set up, but my mom wasn’t impressed with the sites and my dad wasn’t impressed with the $10,000 minimum that would be required for the wedding date. Interesting fact, Tim was probably conceived at the Chamberlin. The more you know.

Anyway, I am again running into the problem that I either completely don’t like venues or I just can’t picture myself getting married there. So far Chrysler is the first venue that I have pictured myself sweeping down an aisle in a long white gown and taking photos by the big statue out in front and looking back on in photo albums and still admiring its beauty.

You know, on an episode of Say Yes to the Dress, Randy, a floor manager, said that when you find the perfect gown, you need to stop looking. Just like when you find the perfect guy for you, you stop looking. I really feel like I found the perfect venue. Nothing else is really matching up even with more looking.