The Smithfield Center

I’m conflicted about the Smithfield Center. On one hand it’s cheap, it’s 10 minutes from the house, and everyone else seems to like it. Booking there would make everything so much easier. But on the other hand, it’s the same boring reception hall that I’ve been saying no to all along.

Also, while the actual room fee is very cheap ($400), the main hall is completely plain and would have to be decorated. The only problem with that is that I’m not really sure how to decorate a room for a wedding and I’ve seen enough brides decorate rooms on the forum and it never equals out to being cheap. So it’s not like booking there would be a straight $3,100 savings over Chrysler.

I’ve seen brides budget up to $4,000 on decorations alone and since I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing and would have to get a professional to help me, the $3,100 savings might not end up being that much when everything is said and done. Not to mention that we have to do all of the decorating ourselves and the lady who gave me a tour stated that most brides needs more than the 8 hour block and can reserve more time for decorating and set up at $50 per hour. Also, we’d probably have to get chair covers. And I loathe chair covers.