The Lithium Adventure

lithiumJanuary 10, 2014

So in my history of bipolar medication I’ve been on just about every family of meds except for the classic bipolar medication, lithium. With my latest episode of hypomania becoming more and more worrisome, my doctor and I decided to give it a try. This drug has been used to treat bipolar since the 1960s and was one of the major medicines used for managing the disease. So I’m interested to see how/if it helps me.

I just picked up my first 30 day perscription and I will take my first 300 mg dose tonight at bedtime with my Latuda. Here’s hoping that this medication will help level me out and prevent my upcoming episode from becoming a real problem. I remain cautiously optimistic.

January 11, 2014

I feel fine. No real difference. Woke up feeling a little tired as I only got 8 hours instead of my regular 9. But I’m good, overall.

January 12, 2014

Nothing new to report, mood-wise. Just plugging along. However, I did want to comment on how cheap the lithium was. That shit cost me $10.35 for a month’s supply! That’s damn good. Yay for cheap drugs!

January 13, 2014

I feel happy. Really, really, really happy. I’ve had a super awesome day and everything has gone so well and everything in the world is so magical.

January 28, 2014

My mood is pretty even, all things to consider. No major swings, no extremes. I’ve been very happy and a little productive, but not overly so. Maybe this shit is working!

February 2, 2014

I’ve crashed. The past two days I have been feeling down and having a lot of negative thoughts. I’ve been short tempered and easily annoyed by just about everything. There was no trigger this time, it just happened slowly and I just noticed it yesterday. Now that I’ve crashed, I miss the feeling of unnervingly powerful happiness. I’m kind of wondering why I switched medications in order to make it go away now. I wasn’t hurting anything being overly happy.

February 27, 2014

My mood has evened out. I feel pretty good. Not happy like I was, but definitely okay. I had a bit of a situation when trying to get a refill for my medication, but that went okay. I’m still trying to see a new doctor so I don’t have to drive an hour and a half to Petersburg to see my current one. But the new one hasn’t even looked at the online survey I filled out over a week ago and I’m still waiting on a call.

But you can’t have everything. If it gets to be towards the end of the month and my refill is running out, I’ll just find a new doctor. But right now, things are okay. I think the Lithium is doing its job.

March 19, 2014

I feel really stable. My mood dips a bit when I’m getting close to my period, but over all, things have been good. No negative thoughts, no manic moments. Just normalcy. Or at least, what’s normal for me.

I did overload myself, socially, recently. I had so many Meetups going on that one night I just couldn’t do it. I stayed in and watched Netflix. Everyone told me that they had a great time at the Meeting and I really wanted to be there, but I don’t regret my decision to stay in with my computer one bit. I needed some quiet time to recharge.

Over all, I haven’t noticed any side effects from the Lithium. I have had too many side effects from my other meds as that’s why I’ve had to switch in the past. Right now, this combination is working really well. I’m very pleased with how this turned out and I hope I can keep my moods on an even keel with these medications.