Steak with Gorgonzola butter, Asparagus with Parmesan

IMG_1828I made dinner tonight and it was killer! I tried out two new recipes and altered them for the lazy cook that just likes shit to taste delicious. The original recipe for the Gorgonzola butter called for pinenuts. I don’t think I’ve ever had pinenuts and where the hell would I get them from? Those were cut. But both recipes worked out wonderfully and I will definitely make them again. Still, without pinenuts.

Also, I have to say that flavored butters are really stealing my heart. I tried rosemary butter a few months ago and I loved it. It was so new and different, but still butter. This Gorgonzola butter has opened up a world of possibilities for me. More recipes for flavored butters will follow.

Steak with Gorgonzola Butter (original recipe here)

Ingredients:

5 tablespoons butter, melted
2 heaping tablespoons of crumbled Gorgonzola
2 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon cilantro, finely chopped
4 steaks, cooked to liking

Directions:

Melt the butter separately, then mix the ingredients together and stir. Heat the mixture very briefly either on the stove top or in a microwave to soften the cheese and congeal the ingredients. Then refrigerate until ready to serve in order to firm.

Cook the steaks to your liking. I used small medallion steaks that cooked very quickly. Once cooked, place on a plate and ladle out a tablespoon of Gorgonzola butter to to the steak. Enjoy.

IMG_1829Asparagus with Parmesan (original recipe here)

Ingredients:

1 pound of raw asparagus
2 tablespoons of olive oil
3 tablespoons of butter
1/2 cup of grated parmesan

Directions:

Wash the asparagus and cut the ends off. Heat a large, flat pan and add the oil. Once hot, add the asparagus on top and simmer. Add the butter on top and melt it over the asparagus. Cook until asparagus is bright green, and cooked, but still crunchy.

When thoroughly cooked, add the parmesan on top and simmer for just a few more minutes. Serve immediately and enjoy.