Sausage-Crusted Pizza Explosion

IMG_2096When I saw the original recipe on Pinterest, I thought that this could go of one of two ways. It could either be the best thing ever or it could be the worst thing ever. I didn’t think that there was going to be much a of medium in this pizza. And I was right. But I was right about it being absolutely amazing! Seriously, I am in love and I’m never letting go.

The best part is that it’s open to so many different ways of making it! I was thinking about doing a breakfast sausage pizza and a spicy one and a Mexican one. The possibilities are endless, seriously. Read on to find out how to make this miraculous pizza yourself.

Ingredients:

1 lb maple flavored sausage
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
2 cups mozzarella cheese
2 heaping tablespoons pasta sauce
Handful of gorgonzola cheese

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Take the raw sausage out of its package and form it around whatever pan you’re using. You can definitely experiment with flavors, but I just love the maple flavor, so I chose that. The sausage will shrink when cooked. Make sure that it’s relatively evenly distributed around the pan, then sprinkle with the parmesan. Bake for 30 minutes.

When finished, drain the excess liquids and fats. Then build your pizza. Add the sauce and cheese on top. Feel free to add your own ingredients and toppings. I was thinking that bacon would go well on a mild sausage and the recipe recommends leafy greens. Put in the oven for 7 minutes.

When finished cooking the cheese should be melted and the sausage should look dark brown, all the way through. Let sit for a few minutes, then cut and serve. Enjoy!