Just stop. Just fucking stop.

download (3)I love a good laugh as much as the next girl. I also love things that are hideously bad. Hence, most of this blog. But I have my limits. They are way beyond a normal human being’s limits, but I do have them. I was surfing Failbook tonight when I found it. And yep, this is it.

The text on the image reads:

A girlfriend gave a challenge to her boyfriend to live a day without her. No communication at all and said if he passed it, she’ll love him forever. The boyfriend agreed. He never texted nor called his girlfriend for the whole day without knowing, his girlfriend has only 24 hours left because she was dying because of cancer. After a day he excitedly went to his girlfriend, “I did it, baby” but tears fell as he saw his girlfriend lying in a coffin with a note, “you did it baby…. now please do it every day… I love you.”

Really? I mean, REALLY?!

I’ve seen this story before:

a gurl went 2 da hospitul and was diagnozed wif ovarian cancer
she waz about to die and no one could donate their ovariez to her
she passed out, next thing she knows she wakes up in a hospital room
“where is my bf?!?!?” she asked
“he donated hiz ovaries to u just to save your life..he isnt here wif us anymore”
repost dis if u would do anythin for ur bf or gf <33

And this one:

gurl was walkin2 skewl wit her bf n they were crossin da rode.
she sed “bbz will u luv me 4evr”
he said “NO..”

da gurl cryed N ran across da rode b4 da green man came on the sine.
boy was cryin and went to pic up her body.
she was ded.
he whispered 2 her corpse “I ment 2 sey i will luv u FIVE-ever…” (dat mean he luv her moar den 4evr)
xxx~*…LIKE DIS IF U CRY EVRY TIME…~*xxx

But the story above is just one too many. I’ve had enough of people either glorifying unintelligence or being so unintelligent that they don’t realize what total bullshit this nonsense is. I know we live in a world where celebrities and role models don’t have to do anything worthwhile or be particularly talented, just attractive and good at self-promotion.

It wouldn’t be so bad if there were plenty of Facebook memes and pictures being passed around that a meaningful and intelligently written. But there aren’t. There’s Jesus Daily’s insipid offerings that half the time look like they’re parodies from our side, teenage bullshit like this and endless posts of satire articles that people don’t know are satire because it’s too hard to tell with all of the ridiculous shit going on in this world.

I’m not saying that Facebook and other social media sites need to be super serious and highly intelligent. I like laughing at silly things too. But let’s have a little more substance and a little less bullshit every goddamn day. Too much of something is bad enough. Let’s stop having too much of one thing and create a little variety in our Facebook worlds.

At the very least, please don’t constantly murder the English language and the methods of storytelling so terribly that I want to bleed out of my eyes.