You can pry the word “bitch” from my cold, dead hands

n-1dc7b21ce507f5a2464ff3a153dda56cAs much as I write, I try to be careful about my language. I don’t use words and phrases that are intended to demean or hurt groups of people. I occasionally swear for legal reasons. As, someone could drag me into court for saying that they’re a fraud, but no one can drag me into court for saying that they’re an asshole. Apparently, there’s no defending against being an asshole.

Anyway, as careful as I try to be, there is one word that I use like it’s going out of style. That word is “bitch” and its variations. I don’t even know why, but saying it gives me great pleasure and satisfaction. I rarely actually say it to a particular woman. I use it mostly for groups of people or as a general term of address.

I once did one of those apps where you can find out what words you use the most when you post on Facebook. “Bitch” and “bitches” were both in the top twenty. So I say the word and it’s derivatives a lot. Let’s just put it that way.

But I use it in a pretty harmless way. I don’t use it with people who don’t know me and don’t know my relationship with this word. I also don’t use it to shame or belittle another woman. I call my friends bitches sometimes, but I also sometimes call them assholes. They know I’m not serious and that there is nothing to be upset about when I refer to them as either.

I also don’t agree that this word is inherently negative about femininity. Bitch is a tough word. It’s a word that says you’re unmanageable and wild. It’s a word that says you’re not doing what you’re told. You’ve rebelled against whatever order someone tried to place on you and you’re doing your own shit, as well you should be.

When it comes down to it, if I want to insult someone, I can come up with a lot better word to do with than “bitch”. If I want to call a friend by a strange term of endearment, I know exactly what word I’ll reach for. Words only mean what you understand them to mean and when we don’t associate a word with its designated meaning anymore, we’ve changed the meaning of the word.

So let’s take back bitch. Let’s let it mean unruly spirit and a difficult person to squeeze into a conventional role. Make it stand for freedom and liberty and the gumption that caused the colonies to break away from England knowing that they could send the full force of the British army down upon them.

Basically, what I’m saying is that we should call the colonial patriots bitches. Peyton Randolph, Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Richard Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, all of them. They’re all bitches. And we love them for it.

But back to the topic at hand. I’m not giving up the word bitch for anyone. It’s my word and I love it. I’ll use it as I see fit and if someone else doesn’t like it, they can delete me from their Facebook. Cause this bitch needs to call other bitches bitches so that they know where they stand.

Bitches!!!