Jobs are Fun: 2014 Edition

IMG_2931So I’m back at Fort Pickett this year. A lot of things have changed, but a lot is the same. I’m on day 4 right now and so far We’ve had one day of training, complete with one of the army’s beloved PowerPoint presentations, and 3 days of doing absolutely nothing. We get into our wardrobe, we pick up our eddie packs and we ride out to a fake village to sit around in the sun all day until we go back to the beach.

My major practices so far have been napping, reading old MiSTs, reading over the ghost tour script 2-3 times a day, doing my reading for Bible Study, playing Angry Birds, and talking to my fellow COBs. While I am greatly enjoying getting paid about $15 an hour to do nothing, it has come to my attention that some of my co-workers have actually dropped out because of the lack of action.

On one level, I understand. I crave challenge and fulfillment and a sense of accomplishment in my job. I don’t like to be bored in general, but especially not at work. However, this is the highest paying job that I’ve ever had and probably the one that requires the least amount of work. Granted, I have to get up at 5am most days and sit in the sun wearing two layers. But actual work time, even when we are working, is minimal compared to most other jobs that I’ve had.

Not to mention that if I wasn’t at Fort Pickett, I would be at home doing my regular job. This requires me to be in the sun, moving around, talking a lot, and handling large groups of middle schoolers. Also, it pays half what Fort Pickett does. When it comes down to it, I’m willing to do what will make me the most money, so I can go overseas next year. If someone is willing to pay me $15 an hour to sleep and memorize the ghost tour script then sign my ass up.

Also, this job is for two weeks. It’s not a permanent thing. If I did nothing all day, every day for years, there’s no way I could handle it. But sipping back on some free water for two weeks and staying in an air conditioned dorm is well within my tolerability range. In fact, I’m really enjoying myself here. Everyone is friendly, I have lots of people to talk to when I want to, I can write all night after I get off duty, there’s a Wal-Mart 10 minutes away whenever I need something, and I can eat all the Doritos I want without judgment.

Beyond that, the first day I have off, I’m going to go sight seeing. It might take me a whole half hour to see everything there is in beautiful Blackstone, Virginia, but I’m going to see it. So far I found a Civil War museum and a mine where you can look for precious gems. There’s also a downtown area with lots of local shops and restaurants that I can check out. I’ll let you know when this sounds boring.

I’m not sure what the point of this article is, other than the fact that I’m having a great time and making a killer amount of money. I’m not sure if I’ll be here next year, but if I am and Fort Pickett calls again, you can bet my ass will be in the car, making my way to Blackstone again. To everyone who bailed, have fun doing actual work for less money!