Gentleman: Intro

TheSaturdaysGentleman_608x376When I first heard this song I took an immediate dislike to it as well as the video. Like Mama’s Little Girl there are simply so many things wrong with it that writing one blog about it just wouldn’t suffice. So I will be writing a series about the various ways this song perpetuates outdated societal standards that are toxic to everyone as well as interpersonal relationships. In this series I will be covering several topics including mandatory monogamy, slut shaming women who enjoy sex, what a gentleman actually is and even more.

One of the first things that struck me about this song was the claim that a gentleman is so 1995 and a real husband is so 1999. I’m in the same age group as the members of The Saturdays. I was 10 in 1995 and 14 in 1999. At that time I was not thinking about husbands or gentlemen or settling down. And nor should I have been. Why women this young are singing about 20 years ago, I’m not sure. There’s also no indication on why men in the 90s were better than men of today. The world has progressively gotten better. The 90s counterparts would be inferior to the men of 2014/5.

But more than that, Gentleman is a limiting and banal pop offering that reinforces archaic ideas about men, women, relationships, and gender relations. Granted, this is pop music, so we can’t exactly expect too much. But little girls everywhere deserve better than to be told they need to fit into a relationship binary or never find happiness.

Below are the song lyrics. I will be pulling specific parts in order to analyze them. Stay tuned for more.

A gentleman is so 1995, so hard for a girl to find
A real husband is so 1999, so hard for a girl to find (What)
Cause most guys just hit it and quit it
And then they wonder why most girls just spit it
A gentleman is so 1995, so hard for a girl to find

You’re not a lady if you’re always on your knees
Shouldn’t have to beg a gentleman, so please be gentle, please
Oh, you’re beautiful, oh, I hope you know
He overcompensates by buying you fancy cars
Just to cover up the fact that he stays out all night in bars
If you can’t see, then maybe he’s not meant to be

You had his baby, so you might got him for now
He already had the milk, so why would he go buy the cow?
Hop in, your chance is slim especially when I’m lying next to him

I wouldn’t marry him, no, not if I were you
Cause if he’s been cheating on me, then he’ll probably cheat on you
Hop in, your chance is slim, especially when, he’s lying next to them

Don’t get me wrong, I know that
Most girls ain’t perfect angels
I’ll let you taste my rainbow
You could at least be faithful

I need a Ryan Gosling, I need a Robert Pattinson
Somebody I can take to Mama, I need to find my Obama
I need a Jonas Brother and, how about a Denzel Washington?
I need a Kellen Lutz, and a Channing Tatum, throw ’em my way, I’ll date ’em
I need a Drake, I need a Ludacris, I need a Weezy, I don’t care who he is
Heard ’em say I need a Kanye, he ain’t a gentleman, but I’ll have him anyway
George Clooney, Lamar Odom, Larry King, I like ’em older
All the gentleman from all around the world, holla at me, holla at me, let me be your girl

To read more in this series, click here.

One thought on “Gentleman: Intro

Comments are closed.