Prompt 28: Upturned Nose

Waterford-Crystal-Cerulean-Seahorse_20090777543Prompt 28. Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?

I’m a simple kind of girl. I don’t recognize many things of quality as it is. I don’t have refined tastes when it comes to most food. I love Dollar Store cheese sticks. I’m perfectly happy to go to a chain restaurant. I don’t need a $100 pillow to sleep on. I would never purchase a purebred dog and so on. But I do get snobby about some things. They are as follows:

  • Loose leaf tea

I only drink loose leaf and I only drink Discover Teas. When I’m at your house, don’t offer me tea unless it’s from my tea shop. Don’t tell me that Lipton is just as good. Don’t try to get me to drink tea with you at a restaurant. It’s just not happening.

  • Sheets

I realize that most guys are clueless when it comes to sheets. And it shows. I’ve slept on flannel sheets, Walmart sheets, and so on. But yeah, my sheets are 400 thread count Egyptian Cotton. Want to impress me when I’m sleeping over at your house? Have a decent pair of sheets on your bed. And you better believe that if I am sleeping over a lot, I will bring some to you.

  • Waterford/Wedgwood

Lennox lovers stay away. I am completely devoted to the best china and crystal in all of the world and that is the products of Waterford and Wedgwood. Their devotion to detail and utter professionalism in craftsmanship is second to none. I’ve already started my Wedgwood pattern and I own some Waterford that will go into my forever home. When it comes to a discussion of quality, there is no other choice than these two for dining and stemware.

Everything else, I’m totally cool on.