Stop stealing my energy!

Sm_villains014Being an introvert is kind of like living in an episode of Sailor Moon. Your life is inundated with people who want to steal your energy. As soon as you get out of bed, it starts. Friends, family, co-workers, strangers, even pets. They want your energy and they will do whatever they can get to get their grubby hands on it.

There are a lot of misconceptions about introverts out there, but the basic idea of introversion is that your brain processes information differently than an extrovert does. So when you draw your energy, you draw it from alone time. Extroverts draw their energy from other people. I am severely introverted. Every test I’ve ever taken, including some taken in school, has shown me very strong on the introversion scale. So I need a lot of alone time. A lot.

I am very social and I happen to love people, so it might seem like I am actually an extrovert, but believe me, I’m not. Being around people takes a lot of my energy and I have to portion it out accordingly. When I was working full-time and being social was part of my job, I found that I didn’t want to spend time with friends or family because I was so burned out from work. I only had so much energy to give and work took it all.

This is not to say that I don’t find happiness and enjoyment in being around others, because I do. But sometimes I need to focus on something that I’m doing and this is not possible when I’m supposed to be giving someone my attention. It’s pretty clear that I write far more than the average person and at this point in my life, I feel compelled to just sit down and write about certain things when I’m inspired. And sometimes I need people to go away and leave me alone so that I can do this. It might come off as rude, but when I need to write, I need to write. And a human being can fucking wait.

When it comes to introversion, all introverts are a little different. If you want to befriend one, marry one, not have one hate you, etc, then learn how to give them space and be understanding of their quirks. Introverts are interesting people that just have their brains wired a different way than extroverts do. When caring and feeding your introvert, make sure that you give them space and time to themselves. When they’re ready to be around people, they will come find you.