Boob Day, Part 2

Reduction12

[Image: Medical diagram of a reduction mammoplasty using the keyhole incision. It’s the procedure that I will be getting.]

April 17, 2015

Remember my first boob day post? It was the day that I was scheduled to have my breast reduction surgery but insurance turned me down and I wasn’t able to get it. Well, today (August 4, 2015) is boob day. The real one.

Today right now (April 17) I have put down my deposit on my surgery and secured my date. My GoFundMe is up to $175 and I just got a massive donation last night of $400 from a friend. That, coupled with my tax return, and what I’ve earned from work, means that I will be spending only one more summer with these oversized breasts. I’m down on the books to have them removed and I could not be happier.

I have so many plans for what I’m going to do once I have my surgery. I’m going to run. I’m going to walk all day without pain. I’m going to wear the black dress I bought in 2009 that I thought I’d never fit into. I’m going to sleep without a bra because being without is not going to be so massively painful. I’m going to feel the freedom of being able to do what I want without my breasts causing me so much pain that I can’t.

It’s Boob Day. Let’s all celebrate.

April 20, 2015

Torie from Dr. Lopes’ office called to set up my pre and post surgery appointments. Although they’re not written in stone, they wanted to get me on the books. So I’m on the books! I have everything done that I need to. I can’t believe how real this feels! It’s actually happening! After two years of struggle, I’m finally going to get this done. I can’t believe it.

July 20, 2015

I had my pre-surgery appointment this afternoon. I got tons of information about my procedure and how to best recover from everything that they’re going to do to me. It’s nerve wracking to sign all of that paperwork. It reminds you there’s a chance that you could die. I mean, seriously. Even the most routine, everyday procedures can have unexpected complications and end in tragedy.

But I’m so excited about no longer being in pain that I’m willing to take the risk. I keep thinking about how much my breasts interfere with my daily activities and how uncomfortable I am all the time and then I know this will all be gone soon. Amazing. I can’t wait.

July 27, 2015

I have 8 days to go until surgery and my throat hurts. On the paperwork I signed they said they will delay surgery for any illness, so now I’m really worried. I don’t have enough time to have this surgery pushed back even a week. I’m hoping if I rest and relax a bit, I can avoid all of that. The last thing I need right now is laryngitis or whatever it is that I’m coming down with. If it’s not completely cleared up by Tuesday I’m going to the doctor.

July 30, 2015

I went to the doctor and got antibiotics and a shot in the ass for whatever it was that I have. It’s working really well so far. That and I got an air filter. I am no longer congested when I wake up. It’s amazing.

August 3, 2015

In less than 24 hours, I will be under the knife. I’m more nervous about this than I was about my gastric sleeve, to be honest. At least I don’t remember being this nervous. I keep wondering ridiculous things. The other way, I was like, do I really need a breast reduction? I mean, the pain’s not that bad. I can just deal, right?

But what am I talking about? The pain is that bad. The pain is awful. I can’t do so many things because of my pain. I want it to be gone and I want to live a regular life.

Then I realized about two days ago that they are actually operating on my breasts. For some reason I kept thinking about my arms hurting and my sides being sore and all of these other things. Then I realized, my breasts are going to be in the most pain. I found that unnerving.

No matter my feelings on this, it’s happening. My money is down, my date is set, I am going to go there and get my surgery. Now I just need to stop freaking out about it.

One thought on “Boob Day, Part 2

Comments are closed.