3 Years Post-Gastric Sleeve Weight Loss Surgery!

11873921_10100887180889834_1970222798_n

[Image: A selfie I took in my room. I’m smiling and holding up three fingers.]

I’ve been having a really good body month so far. August 4th was Boob Day and I got my long-awaited breast reduction. Today, August 13th, is my 3 year anniversary of my gastric sleeve weight loss procedure. Needless to say, both procedures have changed my life for the better. I’m so happy with how both haveĀ turned out so far.

Since August 13, 2012 I have lost over 100 lbs. I’ve gained a lot of body confidence. Not from being thinner, but from accepting my body for what it is and what it looks like, regardless of what society thinks. I feel comfortable in my own skin, for the first time in my life. My body is not the same as it was before my binge eating disorder caused me to gain all of the weight, but my acceptance of it is unconditional.

I was looking at a picture taken last December when I first went into Dr. Lopes office for the breast reduction consultation. My body is covered in stretchmarks from my 90+ lb weight gain in just over a year in 2010-2011. I have them everywhere now and when I saw an image of them, completely unfiltered or edited, I just mentally shrugged. I’m a tiger. I’ve earned some stripes. My body is an amazing thing that carries physical reminders of where it’s been.

No matter how I’ve harmed it in the past, with my eating disorder, with self-harm stemming from my bipolar disorder, with unhealthy habits and practices, it’s still strong as ever. I finally understand that my body is not my enemy, it’s my most faithful friend. I need to take care of it instead of hating it. And I will.

So if you need a reason to raise a glass tonight, raise one to making peace with your body. It’s not an easy thing to do. But it’s just one part of a journey to self-acceptance and being at okay with every part of you.